{Feature} Prepare yourself for Steve Stred’s stunning new trilogy, Sermons Of Sorrow.

Sermons Of Sorrow: Steve Stred

Cover Reveal

Thanks to Gavin for letting me invade Kendall Reviews again.

Today, I bring you not one, not two and not three cover reveals… BUT FOUR!

Yup. I’m insane.

I like to work on a lot of stuff and keep my mind busy, which leads me to this post.

First a brief timeline of events;

December 20th, 2016For Balder Walks is released. A 20-page short story telling the tale of Balder. A man walking from his past and a decision that will forever haunt him.

September 1st, 2018Frostbitten: 12 Hymns of Misery is released, with For Balder Walks the anchor story. This re-introduces Balder and his world to new readers.

December 13th, 2019Piece of Me is released. Set in the same world as For Balder Walks, and featuring Balder as a character, the story follows Kari in her quest to find her husband and son.

So what’s next? A lot of the feedback for Piece of Me was about how amazing and expansive the world the characters live in, as well as how they’d love to learn more about the creatures and the territories.

So, in 2020, let’s return.

Piece of Me: Sermons of Sorrow I

A hardcover edition will be coming soon! This will feature all-new stunning artwork from enigmatic Russian artist Vergvoktre and lettering by Mason McDonald, Piece of Me is part one of the trilogy.


Over a decade ago, Kari’s husband and son went hunting and never returned.

As she prepares for another long winter she longs for their return.

Then one day things change. The night creatures who live in the dark have visited the day and a mysterious figure who arrives may hold the key to reuniting her with her family.

For Kari, the question becomes – just how far will she go to be reunited?

At this time, I will be continuing to use the original cover artwork for the paperbacks and the ebook.

Cathedral of the Skinned: Sermons of Sorrow II

Featuring stunning artwork by mysterious Russian artist Vergvoktre and lettering by Mason McDonald, Cathedral of the Skinned is part two of the trilogy.


Set 500 years after Piece of Me, the Maestro continues to keep the light at bay, the music from the amphitheatre drawing the remaining humans towards the sound, towards their slaughter.

Awoken from his five-century slumber, Jotun, the mountain giant – dealer of death, is told of a prophecy. A human who must be found, who can slay the Maestro and return the light to the world.

This will be available in hardcover, paperback and ebook.

Release date – tentatively late summer, 2020.

Carry the Moon: Sermons of Sorrow III

Featuring glorious artwork by Russian artist Vergvoktre and lettering by Mason McDonald, Carry the Moon is the third and final chapter in the Sermons of Sorrow trilogy.


The world remains in the dark.

Jotun is called to the Gates of Hel, far beyond the northern mountains and northern plains. On his journey there he discovers he is now a hated giant, the creatures believing he has been helping to hide the remaining humans who live.

Once he arrives at Hel, he discovers the creator gods have the same feelings – where he receives his punishment – to carry the moon and round up the survivors for slaughter.

This will be available in hardcover, paperback and ebook.

Release date – tentatively December, 2020

Sermons of Sorrow: The Collected Works

Featuring another stunning work of art for the cover by Vergvoktre and lettering by Mason McDonald, Sermons of Sorrow: The Collected Works will feature all three books in a glorious hardcover release only. As of this writing, the collection will run for a limited time. It will also feature the short stories: For Balder Walks, Poppa?, Krampus Comes Calling as well as two more currently unreleased short stories also set in the same world!

Release date – tentatively December 2020.

As for the artwork itself, Vergvoktre is an artist who creates the most vivid pieces, but pieces that also vibrantly and horrifically give a visual of life during the darkness in this world I’ve created.

I can’t wait for you all to read these!

Each release can be read on their own as a singular piece or as an ordered series. Of course, reading all three will let you know the little connections and intricacies but if you were to pick up book II first, you would be able to follow along just fine!

Stay tuned!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Steve Stred

Steve Stred writes dark, bleak horror fiction.

Steve is the author of the novels Invisible & The Stranger, the novellas The Girl Who Hid in the TreesWagon BuddyYuri and Jane: the 816 Chronicles and two collections of short stories; Frostbitten: 12 Hymns of Misery and Left Hand Path: 13 More Tales of Black Magick, and the dark poetry collection Dim the Sun.

On September 1st, 2019 his second collection of dark poetry and drabbles called The Night Crawls In will arrive. This release was specifically created to help fund the 1st Annual LOHF Writers Grant.

Steve is also a voracious reader, reviewing everything he reads and submitting the majority of his reviews to be featured on Kendall Reviews.

Steve Stred is based in Edmonton, AB, Canada and lives with his wife, his son and their dog OJ.

You can follow Steve on Twitter @stevestred

You can visit Steve’s Official website here

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Welcome to 2020! | stevestredauthor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.