{Book Review} Waves Of Mutilation: Sarah Jane Huntington

Waves Of Mutilation: Sarah Jane Huntington

Reviewed By Simon Paul Wilson

I had the pleasure of reading an ARC of this new collection, and writing a blurb. I’m very happy I’ve been able to blurb such a great book!

Sarah Jane Huntington is definitely one of my favourite writers. Her work just gets better and better, and I’m always excited to see her unleash something new on the world. If you haven’t read any of her books, then I thoroughly recommend you do so. I’m sure many horror fans will enjoy them as much as I do.

As I say in my blurb, Waves of Mutilation is a brilliant collection of horrors that includes tales from Victorian England, the spooky forests of Japan, and the depths of space. No Stars Inside Dark Hearts kicks off the things in fine style. This slice of sci-fi horror has some very nasty scenes indeed! It also boasts a really great title.

Of the nine stories included in this collection, it’s hard to pick out a favourite. Each of the tales had something that appealed to this horror head! However, I would like to mention three that I thought were just exceptional.

One Sunny Day has to be one of the most disturbing pieces of cosmic horror I’ve ever read. There was just something about this story that really creeped me out. Needless to say, I bloody loved it!

Aokigahara was awesome. This J-horror story was most definitely the stuff of twisted nightmares. A solid 11/10 read.

The Discarded Ones is dystopian horror at its best, an absolute belter of a story that went in a dark direction I didn’t expect. Excellent stuff.

I heartily recommend Waves to all you readers of horror. It’s a great book, and truly worthy of your time. Also, all proceeds will be going to charity. How bloody wonderful is that?

Go get a copy, support a worthy charity and an excellent author.

Waves Of Mutilation

A collection of horror, crime, science fiction and dark fantasy stories.
A space vessel approaches the impossible.
The sins of humanity fail to be left behind.
Rural exploration takes a dark turn.
A lonely girl finds her true home at great cost.
A killer is loose in a small village and many more….

“From Victorian England to the depths of space, Waves of Mutilation is a fantastic collection of folk horror and terrifying sci-fi. Absolutely brilliant stuff.” – Simon Paul Wilson- author of GhostCityGirl and See You When The World Ends.”

You can buy Waves Of Mutilation from Amazon UK & Amazon US

Simon Paul Wilson

Simon Paul Wilson is a U.K. based writer of horror and science fiction.

He is currently writing a cyberpunk horror trilogy, the first of which is GhostCityGirl and was published by Not A Pipe publishing in 2020.

Click this link for more info: Ghost City Girl

There now follows a list of writers who have influenced his reading tastes and writing style:

James Herbert. Stephen King, Shaun Hutson, Clive Barker, China Mieville, Haruki Murakami, Carlton Mellick III, Brian Keene, and Adam Nevill.

Simon lives somewhere in the middle of England with his wonderful family. He likes to listen to post-rock and progressive rock at loud volumes. He also plays a mean air bass.

Follow him on Twitter: @spwzen

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.