{Book Review} Judge Dredd – Origins: John Wagner


Writer: John Wagner

Artist: Carlos Ezquerra • Kev Walker

Reviewed By Tarn Richardson

Origins is an epic work, nearly 200 pages of wonderful artwork and brilliant script, which answers many of the questions in the minds of readers of Judge Dredd about what exactly happened before the judges, how the world was destroyed and how the judges came to be.

It covers a huge amount of ground and fills in large missing swathes of history, making it essential reading for all lovers of Dredd and Mega City One.

Starting with an innocuous ransom, Origins explodes into a quest to the cursed Earth, the ruined lands beyond the walls of MC-1, with heroics, battles, and astonishing revelations discovered – both in the Cursed Earth and the memories it evokes in Dredd’s mind.

With the use of flashbacks, Dredd’s past, and the history to which he is inexplicably tied, is revealed, from his parentage, his cloning, the rise of Mad Bad Bob Booth to president, world war three and the rise of the judges.

But Wagner doesn’t keep us solely in the past, delivering his Magnum Opus to the backdrop of a desperate mission among the muties, criminal gangs and old foes in the broken lands of Cursed Earth, all wonderfully drawn by the brilliant Carlos Ezquerra.

Delivered with faultless pacing, wisdom, panache and the occasional famous Wagner humour, Origins is a key body of work which every Judge Dredd fan should read to appreciate just how the hellish world of MC-1 came to be.


An unusual delivery is made to the Grand Hall of Justice, a package that will force Dredd to lead a mission into the Cursed Earth and into the darkest recesses of the history of the Judges and Mega-City One…

Now in this much-anticipated Dredd epic, history is written by Dredd co-creators John Wagner (A History of Violence) and Carlos Ezquerra (Strontium Dog) with a special introductory tale featuring the art of Kev Walker (ABC Warriors: Khronicles of Khaos).

You can buy Origins from the 2000ad Shop

You can download the 2000AD App HERE

Tarn Richardson

Tarn Richardson was brought up a fan of fantasy and horror, in a remote house, rumoured to be haunted, near Taunton, Somerset. He is the author of THE DARKEST HAND series, published by Duckworth Overlook in 2015-2017 and republished by RedDoor in 2019. Comprising of THE DAMNED, THE FALLEN, THE RISEN, and free eBook prequel THE HUNTED, the books tell the epic story of Inquisitor Poldek Tacit, battling the forces of evil to the backdrop of World War One. He has also written the novels, RIPPED, and THE VILLAGE IN THE WOODS, to be published in 2020 and 2021. He lives near Salisbury with this wife, the portraiture artist Caroline Richardson, and their two sons.

Twitter @tarnrichardson/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/tarnrichardson.author/

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/tarnrichardson/

Official Website www.tarnrichardson.co.uk

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.